Debi Marshall Bio


Debi Marshall (BA, Dip.Ed) is a Walkley-award winning investigative crime journalist (Leadership award, 2015) based in Hobart, Tasmania. She is the host and investigative producer of a five-part true-crime series based in South Australia, entitled Debi Marshall Investigates: Frozen Lies.


Starting her career at a newspaper in 1986, Debi moved to hard news at the ABC in radio and television. She later freelanced for Australian radio stations including 3AW and 2UE, covering major stories such as the Port Arthur massacre.

A feature writer, Debi has written for all Australian magazines including the Bulletin, Woman’s Weekly, Madison, Marie Claire and WHO and worked for two years as a senior feature writer for New Idea magazine in the mid 90’s.

From 2011 – 2016, Debi was an Associate Producer for Sunday Night, 7, covering major crime stories. She has also freelanced crime stories for 60 Minutes. She has a reputation for fearless investigative research and for her handling of sensitive stories and talent with respect and dignity.


Debi has written eight books with Random House publishing, including five true crime titles and three biographies. Most have been best-sellers. She is presently writing her ninth true-crime book.


  • Justice in Jeopardy – The Unsolved Murder of Baby Deidre Kennedy (Finalist Ned Kelly award, 2005)
  • Killing for Pleasure – The Definitive Story of the Snowtown Murders (Long-listed Walkley Award 2006, Ned Kelly Award Best True-Crime 2007)
    • The critically-acclaimed Australian movie, Snowtown inspired by book. Debi  was a consultant on the film
  • The Devil’s Garden
    • Sunday Night broadcast a program based on this book in 2015
  • Lambs to the Slaughter – Inside the mind of child killer Derek Percy (Long-listed Walkey Award, 2011)
    • Sunday Night broadcast a program based on this book
  • House of Hancock – The Rise and Rise of Gina Rinehart (Shortlisted for NSW Ashurst Business Literature Prize, 2012)
  • The Family Court Murders (Short-listed Book Walkley Award 2015, Walkley Award for Leadership, 2015)